SHRM@QU

Home » Uncategorized » SHRM@QU Self-Care Night

SHRM@QU Self-Care Night

Upcoming Meetings & Events

No upcoming events

SHRM@QU

SHRM@QU is a local student chapter of the Society for Human Resource Management. We provide students from across the University with the opportunity to gain knowledge and insight into the effective management of human capital in the field of Human Resource Management through affiliation with HRACC, the CT State Council, and the national SHRM organization.

The objectives of this chapter include:

*Promoting the exchange of work-related experience of established business professionals with the theoretical academic perspectives of student and faculty members through open forums and information exchanges.

*Encouraging the acquisition, growth, and continuation of our respective careers in human resource management through expanded knowledge, camaraderie, respect, and mutual support among chapter members and through our affiliation with SHRM and our sponsoring chapter.

*Provide a pool of human resource management leaders for perpetuation of the chapter and of SHRM.

*Function as an important vehicle for promoting the field of human resource management to students.

On Wednesday, December 6th, 2023, the Society for Human Resource Management hosted an educational self-care night. Amy Sherman, our student chapter president, led the room through a PowerPoint on the subject with some testimonies on their own self-care from our Executive Board. ​​Self-care is how we relax when we are stressed and overwhelmed with anything going on in our lives. The amazing aspect of self-care is that you can practice it in various ways. By not taking care of your body, mind, or putting your personal needs first, you can cause yourself to burn out, or even get sick. 

Each of the executive members shared how they partake in self-care:

Amy, President: “I practice self-care by hanging out with friends, taking a drive, or by playing video games.”

Claire, Vice President: “I like to take some down time and read before I go to bed as well as join yoga classes in the beginning of the week to mediate before the week ahead and get my body in shape! I also love to journal my days to remember them more vividly!”

Juliana, Career Liaison: “I practice self-care by taking time for myself to unwind with some music and a good book.”

Teresa, Secretary: “When I’m stressed out, working out really helps clear my head and get that energy out! Laughing/talking with friends fulfills me emotionally. Nature is great to ground myself. I also love reading when I finally have nothing else to do.”

Victoria, Social Media Coordinator: “My way of self-care is making sure my space is all tidy before taking a hot shower. Once I’m all cozy I do a gratitude journal entry and a new prompt of my choice. I try to unwind and really give my brain a break once I’m in my bed. Usually doing work anywhere but there because to keep my space for work and sleep VERY separate.”

Attendees were able to create a self-care plan for themselves on paper. It’s important to know your signs of burnout, plan self-care activities, and to be aware of resources available to you. The presentation outlined resources for Quinnipiac Students, and anyone who needs help:

  • Hours and Location

Mount Carmel Campus, York Hill Campus, and North Haven Campus

Monday – Friday: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.

  • Schedule online or call 203-407-4020, option #1
  • Mental Health Care

Licensed Mental Health Provider (24/7 access): 203-407-4020, option #3

  • Emergencies

Suicide and Crisis Lifeline: Call 988 or Text 988

Department of Public Safety: 203-582-6200

Police, fire or ambulance: Call 911 or Text 911

Email: QUCounseling.general@hhchealth.org

Thank you for a great semester, everyone. Have a great holiday season. Rest and take care of yourselves. See you next semester!!